Professional Women Making Moves – LaToya S. Watkins

LaToyaWelcome to Professional Women Making Moves Blog, where we feature professional Black women from all over making moves in their personal and business world.

Tinisha Nicole Johnson is the author of the upcoming book Lessons Learned: Loving Yourself As A Black Woman. The book emphasizes ten life lessons that addresses a Black woman’s most intimate, personal, and professional life. 

Tinisha will be interviewing professional women from various backgrounds up to the release date of her book (January 2010) discussing who they are and the challenges they face, and any advice they have to offer. Learn more about this book and the author at her website: www.TinishaNicoleJohnson.com

Click here to learn more about this blog: https://blkprofessionalwomen.wordpress.com/

Today, Tinisha interviews author LaToya S. Watkins. Please comment and check out her interview. 

TINISHA:
Please introduce yourself and tell me who you most credit your success to?

LATOYA: My name is LaToya S. Watkins. I am a wife and mother first, then a novelist and an editor. I credit my success to God giving me strength to endure during the hardest times and then allowing me to recognize the gifts that were always within me.

TINISHA:  What types of challenges do you face as a Professional Black woman?

LATOYA:  Being a Professional Black Woman is challenging because you have to work extra hard to get people to see you as a woman first. I don’t want to be successful in for for a black woman. I want to be a successful woman.
 
TINISHA:  How important is networking to you? Making the right connection is everything. Meeting new people can lead you anywhere and you could end up making friends for life. Networking is everything.

LATOYA:  What does success mean to you? Success for me is happiness with whereever I am in life. We will always be reaching for something more, but the key to being successful is maintaining some form of contentment with where I am in the present.

TINISHA:  How do you balance your professional and personal life?

LATOYA:  This is something that is very hard for me to explain. At times I wonder how I do it myself. In all honesty I weave in and out of my professional and personal lives without even thinking about it. Sometimes, however, I can see them both blending together since I love both my personal and professional lives. I attempt to give both worlds equal respect and I think this helps as far as balancing them goes.

TINISHA:  What advice do you have for today’s young Black girls?

LATOYA:  Like I tell my own daughters, love God, yourself, and then others. Love is the key to success.


MORE ABOUT LATOYA:

LaToya S. Watkins is the author of In Love with Losers. She lives in the Dallas/Ft.Worth metroplex with her husband and three children. LaToya works as a writer and an editor for various publications. She is a literary studies graduate from the University of Texas at Dallas, where she currently attends graduate school as well.

Visit LaToya at:
www.latoyaswatkins.com
www.peaceinthestormpublishing.com
http://latoyaswatkins.wordpress.com

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Professional Women Making Moves – LaToya S. Watkins”

  1. Jamila Williams Says:

    I am a 21 year old black woman. I am very inspired by Latoya Watkins. My mother purchased “In Love With Losers” for me andIi am really enjoying it! Thank you for your inspiration.

Leave a comment